Breeding of high oleic sunflowers

Organic sunflower seed initiative

Sunflower oil plays a major role as a raw material in the organic food and natural cosmetics sector. High oleic (HO) sunflower oil in particular is increasingly gaining in importance. This is because HO sunflower oils contain a high percentage of oleic acid (over 78 percent), which makes them nutritionally beneficial. The high percentage of monounsaturated oleic acid means that these oils are relatively insensitive to heat and light, making them especially suitable for cooking oil and for the production of cosmetics. Today's organic farms, however, cultivate mainly hybrid sunflowers that come almost exclusively from two large seed companies, some of which are even patented. But organic farmers have no choice, as the seed market doesn't offer any alternatives. In order to improve this situation, also with a view to producing bee-friendly varieties and securing genetic resources, the Peter Kunz and Weleda companies started to conduct growing trials with different varieties in 2005. These long-term, detailed trials led to the foundation of the Biosaatgut Sonnenblumen (organic sunflower seed) initiative.

The companies All Organic Trading, Bioland Handelsgesellschaft, Bioland Markt, Byodo Naturkost, Carl Geiger, Dreher Agrarrohstoffe, Fenaco, HUOBER Brezel, Marbacher Ölmühle, Naturata, Rapunzel Naturkost, Wala Heilmittel and WELEDA, all active in the field of oils and seeds, joined forces in 2012 to support the Getreidezüchtung Peter Kunz (Peter Kunz cereal breeding) in the organic breeding of high oleic sunflower varieties. Thanks to these organic companies, the funding of the project is initially secured for five years.

The objective is to breed a healthy variety with the desired properties:

  • high oil content of the seed
  • high oleic acid content of the oil
  • stable plant health
  • good adaption to the conditions of organic farming
  • sufficient yield

In the initial test years, different HO strains were crossed with each other. From the new varieties that were produced the growers selected those which proved to have a good oil content and good health. The first harvest, test pressing and analysis, as well as the sensory evaluation of the oil, all pointed to a promising development. However, until the sunflower variety has all the desired properties, the growers still have a few more years of selection ahead.

What is remarkable and innovative about this project is the collaboration of such a wide range of stakeholders from across the entire value-creation chain of the organic sector – with producer associations, processing companies and retail companies all among the sponsors. Out of a sense of responsibility for this cultivated crop, the industry players are joining forces in a targeted non-profit breeding initiative.

For more information visit:

Züchtung von high oleic Sonnenblumen

Sonnenblumenzucht-Byodo Naturkost

Initiative Bio-Saatgut Sonnenblumen (IBS)

In der Biolebensmittel- und Naturkosmetikbranche spielt Sonnenblumenöl als Rohstoff eine wichtige Rolle. Vor allem das High-Oleic (HO)-Sonnenblumenöl gewinnt stetig an Bedeutung. Dank eines Ölsäureanteils von über 78 Prozent sind HO-Sonnenblumenöle ernährungsphysiologisch günstig. Sie eignen sich besonders als Bratöl und für die Kosmetikherstellung. Der hohe Gehalt an einfach ungesättigter Ölsäure gibt dem Öl die ausgezeichnete Stabilität gegenüber Licht und Wärme. Auf den Bio-Betrieben werden heute allerdings überwiegend Hybrid-Sonnenblumen angebaut, die fast ausschließlich von zwei großen Saatgutkonzernen stammen. Teilweise sind sie sogar patentiert. Bio-Bauern haben jedoch keine Auswahl, denn auf dem Saatgutmarkt ist nichts anderes verfügbar. Um diese Situation zu verbessern, aber auch im Hinblick auf bienenfreundliche Sorten und die Sicherung genetischer Ressourcen, starteten die Unternehmen Peter Kunz und Weleda im Jahre 2005 Anbauversuche mit unterschiedlichen Sorten. Die langjährigen und eingehenden Untersuchungen mündeten dann in die Gründung der Initiative Biosaatgut Sonnenblumen.

Die Unternehmen All Organic Trading, Bioland Handelsgesellschaft, Bioland Markt, Byodo Naturkost , Carl Geiger, Dreher Agrarrohstoffe, Fenaco, HUOBER Brezel, Marbacher Ölmühle, Naturata, Rapunzel Naturkost, Wala Heilmittel und WELEDA, alle im Bereich Öle und Saaten tätig, haben sich im Jahr 2012 zusammengeschlossen: sie unterstützen die Getreidezüchtung Peter Kunz bei der biologischen Züchtung von „High Oleic“-Sonnenblumen-Sorten. Das Projekt ist zunächst durch diese Bio-Unternehmen für fünf Jahre finanziell abgesichert.

Ziel ist die Züchtung einer gesunden Sorte mit den erwünschten Eigenschaften:

  • hoher Ölgehalt in der Saat
  • hoher Ölsäuregehalt im Öl
  • stabile Pflanzengesundheit
  • gute Anpassung an die Bedingungen des biologischen Anbaus
  • ausreichender Ertrag

In den ersten Versuchsjahren wurden verschiedene HO-Sorten miteinander gekreuzt und unter den Nachkommen diejenigen ausgesucht, die sich durch einen guten Ölgehalt und gute Gesundheit auszeichnen. Die erste Ernte, die Probepressung und die Analyse sowie die sensorische Bewertung des Öls zeigten, dass eine vielversprechende Entwicklung angelegt wurde. Bis die  Sonnenblumensorte die ganze Palette der gewünschten Eigenschaften mitbringt, werden die Züchter noch einige Jahre weiter selektieren müssen.

Bemerkenswert und innovativ ist an diesem Projekt die Zusammenarbeit verschiedenster Vertreter aus dem Bio-Bereich: Es sind Erzeugergemeinschaften, Verarbeiter und Handelsfirmen im Kreis der Förderer. Somit sind Akteure über die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette vertreten. Aus Verantwortung für diese Kulturpflanze bündeln die Branchenteilnehmer ihre Kräfte, um einer gemeinnützigen Initiative zielgerichtete Züchtungsarbeit zu ermöglichen.

Weitere Informationen unter: www.getreidezuechtung.ch/projekte/sonnenblumen